The American and International Associations of Professional Farriers (AAPF/IAPF) are pleased to announce the results of the 2018 AAPF/IAPF Board elections
Adam Wynbrandt APF-I of Sacramento, Calif. has been elected by the Board of Directors to serve as president for a two-year term beginning on January 24, 2018.  Adam’s farrier career includes shoeing international horses in Central America and California, serving as the resident farrier for the University of California – Davis, and most recently, as the co-owner of The Horseshoe Barn (a farrier supply store) in Sacramento.
Cathy Lesperance APF-I of Fergus, Ontario will serve as vice-president for the same two-year term. Cathy has been a full-time farrier for 30 years.  She says that “she started shoeing when she was 8!” (just kidding).  Her clients include everything from FEI grand prix level jumpers to backyard horses.  She has served as a Director on the AAPF/IAPF Board since 2014.
After taking a “year off” from the Board, James Gilchrist APF of Wellington, Fla. has agreed to return to the Board for a three-year term as Treasurer.  James too has had a long and distinguished career with hunters, jumpers, and dressage horses.  He owns a multi-farrier practice in Palm Beach County.  James has acknowledged that he has big shoes to fill since he is replacing retiring Board member Roy Bloom CJF APF-I who has served as Treasurer since 2013.
We are also pleased to introduce two new Directors who will both serve three-year terms (2018 – 2021):
Donnie J. Karr APF-I of Loomis, Calif. made a career change in 2000 from general building contractor to farrier after graduating from the Pacific Coast Horseshoeing School. Since then he has spent countless hours watching and listening to some of the premier farriers in the AAPF (and the industry).  He is a strong supporter of continuing education and encourages others to get involved.
Frank K. Reilly DVM APF of West Chester, Penn. will be the first veterinarian to serve on the AAPF/IAPF Board of Directors. When the association was founded, the decision to allow vets and farriers to join as Regular Members was made. Dr. Reilly believes that more vets need to join the AAPF/IAPF and encourages farriers and vets to work together for the betterment of the horse and our industry.
Two other candidates were on the ballot for this year’s election – William (Bill) Allison APF-I of Annville, Penn. and James Weatherford CF APF-I of Chandler, Ariz.  We appreciate their willingness to be considered and hope that they will “put their hats back in” in the future.
We also want to recognize the following “retiring” members of the AAPF/IAPF Board of Directors:
Dave Farley CF APF-I of Coshocton, Ohio and Loxahatchee, Fla. – Has served as vice president, president, and immediate past president.  Was a founding member of the Board of Directors.
Roy Bloom CJF APF-I of Drummond, Wisc. – Has served as director and treasurer.  Was also a founding member of the Board of Directors.
Curtis Burns APF-I of Wellington, Fla. – Has served as a director since 2015.
Tim Cable APF-I of Blasdell, NY – Has also served as a director since 2015.
Mike Hayward APF-I of Morgan Hill, Calif. – Served as a director since 2015.


Be the first to make a comment on this story.
Forgot your password? Click here to retrieve it.
- OR -
Register to participate Click here.